DUI Lawyer in Palmetto

DUI in Florida

A first offense DUI in Florida is typically misdemeanor offense and not the more serious charge of a felony, which can bring about harsher penalties of years of jail time and thousands of dollars in fines.  The offense consists of driving while the normal faculties are impaired or having a blood alcohol level at or above .08.

First Offense

  • Fine: Up to $2,000. If your blood alcohol level is .15 or higher, or you have a minor in the vehicle, a fine will be assessed up to $4,000.
  • Community Service:  You will need to serve a mandatory 50 hours of community service or an additional fine of $10 for each hour of required community service.
  • Probation: The total period of probation and incarceration will not be greater than 1 year.
  • Imprisonment: Imprisonment is at the court's discretion. Sentencing terms may be served at a residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program, credited toward the term of imprisonment. For the first conviction, you will receive not more than 6 months. If your blood alcohol level is .15 or higher or there was a minor in the vehicle, you will receive not more than 9 months.

Felony DUI

 

 A DUI defendant can be charged with a felony.

Felony DUI is reserved for repeat or aggravated offenses. In general, if you have been convicted of your second DUI offense, you will be at risk for a felony DUI for the following 10 years. If you receive your third conviction during this time, you will receive a third-degree felony resulting in penaltiessuch as license suspension and multiple years in prison.